March 2008

Johnny Brenda's1201 N. Frankford Avenue
Philadelphia, PA Map
Price: $15 General Admission
Tuesday, December 4, 2007 - 8:00pm

Sex Mob

Steven Bernstein, trumpet
Briggan Krauss, saxophone
Tony Scherr, bass
Kenny Wollesen, drums

Steven Bernstein is a trumpeter/slide trumpeter, bandleader, arranger, and composer who lives outside of musical convention. He formed Sex Mob in 1995 and since then, the band has been touring the world, winning numerous awards, and has had their music featured on MTV, Saturday Night Live and NPR. Sexotica, recorded for Thirsty Ear's Blue series, and produced by Good and Evil is their most recent release. Their previous recording, Dime Grind Palace (Ropeadope), features legendary trombonist Roswell Rudd.

Briggan Krauss attended Cornish College of the Arts in Seattle, Washington where he received a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree in music performance in 1992. In 1994 Briggan moved to Brooklyn, New York where he still lives today. Briggan has performed and recorded with musicians such as John Zorn, Wayne Horvitz, Bill Frisell, Eyvind Kang, Robin Holcomb, Anthony Coleman, Madeski Martin and Wood, Ikue Mori, Bobby Previte, Jim Black, Joey Baron, the New York Composer's Orchestra, Levon Helm, Trey Anastasio, Joan Wassser, and many others. He is also a founding member of Sex Mob, which is celebrating its tenth year as an ongoing, progressive and productive band. Briggan also plays in the Hal Willner project "Came So Far For Beauty" that is currently featured in the Loin's Gate movie Leonard Cohen: I'm Your Man.

Bassist Tony Scherr was born in New Haven, Connecticut and is self taught. He is best known as a bass player (both acoustic and electric), but he also plays slide and electric guitar. Tony has lived in New York for many years. He stays busy recording and touring in many bands including Sex Mob, Jesse Harris and the Ferdinandos, Joey Baron's Killer Joey and The Maria Schneider Orchestra. In addition, Tony has played with Bill Frissell, John Scofield, John Lurie and The Lounge Lizards, Dakota Staton, Woody Herman, Chris Brown and Kate Fenner, Slowpoke, Al Grey, Jon Faddis, The Village Vanguard Orchestra, Sophie B. Hawkins, Junior Cook, Brad Shepik & the Commuters, Wolfgang Muthspiel, Stanley Turrentine, Steve Kuhn and Tricky. Tony also writes and sings his own songs accompanying himself on guitar. This material can be heard on his self-produced CD entitled, Come Around. Tony has contributed to film scores by John Lurie, Evan Lurie, Howard Shore and with members of Sonic Youth.

Kenny Wollesen grew up in Santa Cruz, California, moved to San Francisco early in his career and has since lived and worked in New York City. He has performed regularly with Bill Frisell as a member of his trios, the New Quartet and his septet with which he appeared on the album Blues Dream. He has played with John Zorn, Marc Ribot, John Medeski, Tom Waits, John Scofield, Jesse Harris and the Ferdinandos, Sean Lennon, Mitchell Froom, Big John Patton, John Lurie, Jim Hall, Jessica Williams and Myra Melford, and tours occasionally with Zorn's Electric Masada. He also leads his own band, The Wollesens.

Billy Martin-G. Calvin Weston Duo
Billy Martin, percussion
G. Calvin Weston, percussion

Grant Calvin Weston started playing with Ornette Coleman's Prime Time band at the age of 17. He later joined James Blood Ulmer and John Lurie's Lounge Lizards. John Lurie, Calvin and Billy then toured and recorded together as a trio called The John Lurie National Orchestra for about two years.

Billy Martin is best known as the drummer for Medeski Martin and Wood. He has also recorded and performed with The Lounge Lizards, Bob Moses, Oren Bloedow, John Scofield, Cibo Matto and Iggy Pop.

Andrew D'Angelo Trio
Andrew D'Angelo, saxophone
Evan Lipson, bass
Mike Pride, drums

The Andrew D'Angelo Trio will be playing d'Angelo's own challenging hyper-active compositions.  This trio pushes the boundaries of intensity in a jazz setting.  Seattle native d'Angelo has worked all around the globe with everyone from Lee Konitz to Bobby Previte to Chris Lightcap, and is a member of the bands Tyft, Human Feel, Ragged Jack, Angel ov Death, and the Matt Wilson Quartet.

Mike Pride has performed and recorded with many ensembles and musicians including  Aarktica, Boredoms, Anthony Braxton, Califone, Eugene Chadbourne, Nels Cline, Milford Graves, Haino Keiji's FUSHITSUSHA, George Lewis, Frank Lowe, punk-rock legends MDC (Millions Of Dead Cops), Tony Malaby, Butch Morris, William Parker, Jamie Saft, Sonny Simmons, Jack Wright, Otomo Yoshihide and John Zorn. He currently leads or co-leads the bands Dynamite Club, From Bacteria to Boys, Period, Whoopie Pie and Angel ov Death.

Evan Lipson works regularly with Normal Love, Satanized, Mike Pride's From Bacteria to Boys and rock supergroup Dynamite Club. He has also performed and/or recorded with artists such as Uri Caine, Alvin Curran, Mat Maneri, Tatsuya Nakatani, Pauline Oliveros, Nate Wooley, Jack Wright, and Yoshida Tatsuya (RUINS).