July 2008

Johnny Brenda's1201 N. Frankford Avenue
Philadelphia, PA Map
Price: $12 General Admission
Tuesday, May 20, 2008 - 8:00pm


Stephen O'Malley, strings + fx + amps
Peter Rehberg, oscs + apps + drives

Please join Ars Nova Workshop for the Philadelphia premiere of two extreme new projects - KTL and Beta Popes.  A threatening new collaboration taking in parallel worlds of Extreme Computer Music and Black Metal, KTL is Stephen O'Malley (Sunn 0))), Burning Witch, Khanate) and Peter Rehberg (PITA).

Peter Rehberg (b. 1968, London) is an Author and Performer of electronic audio works based in Vienna, Austria. Rehberg has given live performances, both solo and collaborative, throughout Europe, North & South America, Japan and Australia. He has collaborated live and in the studio with Russell Haswell, Florian Hecker, Jim O'Rourke, Christian Fennesz, Z'EV, Tujiko Noriko, Kevin Drumm, Carlos Giffoni, Mika Vainio, Zbigniew Karkowski, Rosy Parlane, Keith Rowe, Gert-Jan Prins, Marcus Schmickler, Dennis Cooper, Jade, SUNNO))), and Lasse Marhaug, as well as being a member of MIMEO. He has collaborated with choreographers Gisele Vienne/DACM, Meg Stuart, Chris Haring, and participated in the 2nd Göteborg Art Biennale (Against All Evens) curated by CM von Hausswolff.

Rehberg co-founded the massively influential Mego label in 1994, and soon after began recording under the name Pita. His first solo release, Seven Tons For Free, came out in 1996 and was a kick in the teeth to all those who heard it, melding noise with techno in a blend The Wire called "wilfully difficult," a crucial formative statement for the then nascent EAI world. Since then, he's continued in his ever-difficult path, both as a solo artist (Get Out, Get Down), and in groups such as KTL, Rehberg & Bauer, MIMEO, and Fenn'O'Berg. Recently, he's been primarily focused on working with dance and performance pieces, with DACM, KTL and on his own, and now runs the Editions Mego label by himself.

Beta Popes
Jamie Saft, guitar
Skerik, saxophone + vocals
Bobby Previte, drums

From the depths of nowhere comes a message of millenarianism based on active-denial technology, a parabolic swarm of useful information, not to be pre-determined, hence improvised, merciless and loud in delivery...Beta Popes.

Seattle native Skerik (born Eric Walton) is a pioneer in a playing style that has been dubbed saxophonics. He is a founding member of Critters Buggin' and Garage a Trois (including Stanton Moore, Charlie Hunter and Mike Dillon, recently featuring Marco Benevento). Skerik has been a member of, performed frequently, or toured with Les Claypool's Fancy Band and Frog Brigade, Dumpstaphunk, Johnny Vidacovich, Fred Wesley, Mike Clark, The Headhunters, Bobby Previte, Ponga, Joe Doria, Sadhappy, Tuatara (with Peter Buck), Mad Season, Roger Waters and many others. He leads Seattle-based "punk-jazz" ensemble Skerik's Syncopated Taint Septet, as well as New Orleans-based Maelstrom Trio (including long-time duomates keyboardist Brian Coogan and drummer Simon Lott).

Bobby Previte moved to New York City in 1979 and became active in the city's thriving jazz and experimental music scenes, starting with professional relationships with John Zorn, Wayne Horvitz, Elliott Sharp and others that have continued, intermittently, to the present. He worked with Dominican pianist Michel Camilo and double-bassist Tracie Huntington on their albums On The Other Hand, On Fire, and Michel Camilo itself in 1988-90. In 1991, he wrote the score for Cirk Valentin (Moscow Circus on Stage), a stage show consisting of circus acts created by Valentin Gneushev that performed at the Gershwin Theatre on Broadway. Recent compositional works as of Spring 2007 include The Constellations Ensemble, a chamber group touring the multi-media show called The 23 Constellations of Joan Miró, Dialed In, a solo electronic drum show collaboration with video artist Benton-C Bainbridge, The Coalition of the Willing, a guitar quartet featuring Charlie Hunter, Steven Bernstein and Jamie Saft, Strike, a new quartet with organist Marco Benevento and two saxophones, and Groundtruther, a duo with Charlie Hunter.

Jamie Saft was born in Flushing Queens, New York in 1971 and is a graduate of both Tufts University and the New England Conservatory of Music. He has performed and recorded with John Zorn, Bobby Previte, Merzbow and many others. He has also written several original film scores including Murderball and God Grew Tired Of Us. In 2006 he also contributed to Bobby Previte's Coalition of the Willing, and is a member of John Zorn's Electric Masada. In addition, one of Saft's many projects is the Jamie Saft Trio with Ben Perowsky (drums) and Greg Cohen (acoustic bass). In 2006 the trio released Trouble: The Jamie Saft Trio Plays Bob Dylan (Tzadik) featuring Anthony and Mike Patton.

The Peeesseye
Jaime Fennelly, harmonium
Chris Forsyth, guitar
Fritz Welch, drums

The Peeesseye has been described as "the most remarkable smorgasbord of back porch minimalism, sound poetry and urban decay of recent memory," "ritual music balanced precariously between the sacred and the profane," and "Situationist field recording rock." Since coming together in Brooklyn, NY in March 2002, Jaime Fennelly, Chris Forsyth, and Fritz Welch have toured the US and Europe consistently while releasing six CDs and one 7-inch, all on Forsyth's Evolving Ear label. Their music incorporates minimalism's sense of repetition, the drama of Japanese court music, and the power of extreme rock with an ecstatic performative quality to create music that resists easy categorization in today's hyper formatted world.